AI Plan Comparator

Every consumer, team and enterprise plan from ChatGPT, Claude, Google AI, Perplexity, X Subscription (now including Cursor), Microsoft 365 and Mistral, in US dollars and in the euros each vendor shows a buyer in Germany. All seven vendors were re-checked against their own pricing and help pages on October 23, 2026. Prices and limits change often, so open the linked source before you pay.

Last verified: October 23, 2026, every vendor. Per-vendor check dates are in the check log below the table.

How to actually choose an AI plan

Every AI vendor runs a similar pricing ladder: a free tier to get you in, a $20 tier for individuals, premium tiers at $100 and $200 for power users (OpenAI added $500 on September 29, 2026), and per-seat business plans that now come in standard and premium seats. The price tags look similar. What differs is what sits behind each tier: model access, 5-hour and weekly limits, seat minimums, context windows, ads, and which currency you are billed in.

Most "which AI should I pay for" decisions get made on the wrong axis. People compare features in marketing copy instead of comparing the actual job-to-be-done. The cleaner frame: pick the dominant workflow you want the tool to handle, then pick the cheapest plan that doesn't bottleneck that workflow. If you're hitting caps by Wednesday, you've underbought. If you're paying for reasoning capacity you use once a month, you've overbought.

The table below links to each vendor's own pricing page, but it is not a live entitlement feed. Switch the price column to EUR to see what each vendor shows a buyer in Germany; where a vendor shows only USD, the table says so instead of converting.

Best first paid plan

ChatGPT Plus or Claude Pro

Both are $20 a month in the US. Start with ChatGPT Plus (GPT-6 Sol, Codex, €23 in Germany) for breadth. Start with Claude Pro (Opus 5.5, Claude Code, USD only) if writing, documents or terminal coding dominate your week.

Best Google-native option

Google AI Pro

Gemini 4 Argon, Deep Research and 5 TB storage for $19.99 (€21.99 in Germany). Best when Gmail, Docs and Drive already hold your work.

Best research-first plan

Perplexity Pro

$17 a month billed annually. Strongest when cited, current answers matter more than generation, coding or images.

Best team upgrade

ChatGPT Business or Claude Team

Both start at $20 per seat billed annually. ChatGPT Business for broad apps and Codex; Claude Team when the work is document-heavy. Both now sell a premium seat for heavy users.

Money Stack

Best AI stacks by monthly budget

The mistake is not paying for AI. The mistake is paying for overlapping subscriptions that solve the same job. Start with one broad assistant, add one specialist only when a weekly workflow proves it can earn back the spend.

Free stack

ChatGPT Free + Gemini free + GitHub Copilot Free

$0/month

Learners and occasional users: ChatGPT Free with Codex on GPT-6 Luna, the Gemini app at standard limits, and 2,000 Copilot inline suggestions a month.

ChatGPT Free may show ads. Free tiers cap files, images and research tools, and Claude Free has no Opus.

Best stack under $50/month

ChatGPT Plus + Perplexity Pro

$37/month before tax (Perplexity billed annually)

One broad execution assistant and one citation-first research engine.

Swap ChatGPT Plus for Claude Pro if writing quality is the main bottleneck. Skip Perplexity if you rarely need sourced research.

Best coding stack under $60

Claude Pro + X Premium (includes Cursor Pro)

$50/month before tax

Claude Code for terminal agent work, Cursor for editor loops, Grok included in the same X pool.

Cheaper route: ChatGPT Plus (Codex included) + GitHub Copilot Pro for $30/month.

Heavy-use tier at $100

One of: Claude Max 5x, ChatGPT Pro $100, Google AI Ultra 5x, X Super

$99.99 to $100/month

People who hit their $20 plan limits every week. Buy the one whose window you already hit.

Do not stack two $100 plans. Read ChatGPT Pro vs Claude Max first.

Filter by tier
Filter by provider
Price currency
ProviderPlanTierPrice (USD)Best forSource and check
OpenAI (ChatGPT)FreeFree$0EUR shown by vendorTrying ChatGPT and Codex (Codex on Free and Go uses GPT-6 Luna). Ads may appear on Free and Go.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
OpenAI (ChatGPT)GoPro$8/moEUR shown by vendorLowest-cost paid ChatGPT tier. The plan card says it may include ads.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
OpenAI (ChatGPT)PlusPro$20/moEUR shown by vendorGPT-6 Sol in Chat, GPT-6 Astra in ChatGPT Work and Codex, no ads.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
OpenAI (ChatGPT)Pro $100Max$100/mo, monthly onlyEUR shown by vendorGPT-6 Pro (Astra) in Chat; no five-hour limit in Codex and Work; weekly GPT-6 Pro allowance.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
OpenAI (ChatGPT)Pro $200Max$200/mo, monthly onlyEUR shown by vendorLarger GPT-6 Pro weekly limit, then fallback to GPT-5.6 Thinking Medium. Reopened September 29, 2026.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
OpenAI (ChatGPT)Pro $500Max$500/mo, monthly onlyEUR shown by vendorThe only ChatGPT tier with Ultrafast speed, which uses 8x the included allowance.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
OpenAI (ChatGPT)Business StandardTeam$20/user/mo annual or $25 monthlyEUR shown by vendorTeams of 2 to 200; 15 GPT-6 Pro messages per month.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
OpenAI (ChatGPT)Business PremiumTeam$100/user/mo annual or $125 monthlyEUR shown by vendor5x Standard usage, no 5-hour limit, 50 Pro messages per week.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
OpenAI (ChatGPT)EnterpriseEnterpriseCustomEUR shown by vendorCredit- or token-based pricing; data residency in ten regions, including Europe.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
Anthropic (Claude)FreeFree$0USD onlyLight Claude use on a rolling 5-hour window. No Opus or Fable.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
Anthropic (Claude)ProPro$20/mo, or $17/mo billed annuallyUSD onlyClaude Code, Opus 5.5, Fable 5.1 via usage credits; at least 5x Free per 5-hour session.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
Anthropic (Claude)Max 5xMax$100/mo, monthly onlyUSD only5x Pro usage per session, plus $100/mo in Claude Platform API credits (not usable in Claude Code or the apps).LinkChecked October 23, 2026
Anthropic (Claude)Max 20xMax$200/mo, monthly onlyUSD only20x Pro usage per session, plus $200/mo in Claude Platform API credits.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
Anthropic (Claude)Team StandardTeam$20/seat/mo annual or $25 monthlyUSD only2 to 150 seats; 1.25x Pro usage per session; up to $500/mo pooled API credits per team.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
Anthropic (Claude)Team PremiumTeam$100/seat/mo annual or $125 monthlyUSD only5x Standard seats (6.25x Pro per session) for the heaviest team members.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
Anthropic (Claude)EnterpriseEnterprise$20/seat/mo annual + usage at API ratesUSD onlyMinimum 20 seats self-serve (50 sales-assisted); every token billed at API rates.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
Google AIFreeFree$0EUR shown by vendorGemini app at standard limits with a 32K context window.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
Google AIGoogle AI PlusPro$4.99/moEUR shown by vendor2x free limits, 128K context, 400 GB storage. Google One also lists a 2 TB AI Plus at €9.99.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
Google AIGoogle AI ProPro$19.99/moEUR shown by vendorGemini 4 Argon, Deep Research, 4x free limits, 1M context, 5 TB storage.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
Google AIGoogle AI Ultra (5x)Max$99.99/moEUR shown by vendor5x AI Pro limits, from 20 TB storage, YouTube Premium, 10,000 Flow credits.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
Google AIGoogle AI Ultra (20x)Max$199.99/moEUR shown by vendor20x AI Pro limits and 25,000 Flow credits.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
PerplexityFreeFree$0USD only3 Pro Searches per day and 1 Research per month.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
PerplexityProPro$17/mo billed annuallyUSD onlyCited research with weekly Pro Search limits (no published number). Monthly price not shown publicly.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
PerplexityMaxMax$200/mo or $2,000/yrUSD onlyHighest consumer limits; 10,000 monthly credits.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
PerplexityEnterprise ProEnterprise$34/seat/mo billed annuallyUSD only400 Pro Searches per week, 50 Research per month. Perplexity’s help center still lists $40, which conflicts.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
PerplexityEnterprise MaxEnterprise$271/seat/mo billed annuallyUSD only4,000 Pro Searches per week and 500 Research per month.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
xAI (X Subscription, incl. Cursor)PlusPro$8/mo or $80/yrUSD onlyEntry X Subscription; in Cursor it covers Grok models only.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
xAI (X Subscription, incl. Cursor)PremiumPro$30/mo or $300/yrUSD onlyBundles SuperGrok, Cursor Pro and X Premium+ in one 4x usage pool.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
xAI (X Subscription, incl. Cursor)SuperMax$100/mo or $1,000/yrUSD only15x usage pool shared by Grok and Cursor.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
xAI (X Subscription, incl. Cursor)UltraMax$200/mo or $2,000/yrUSD only50x usage pool shared by Grok and Cursor.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
xAI (X Subscription, incl. Cursor)TeamsTeam$30, $100 or $200 per seatUSD onlyPremium, Super or Ultra seats; Plus is not available for teams.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
Microsoft 365 and CopilotCopilot (free)Free$0EUR shown by vendorLimited free Copilot, subject to available capacity.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
Microsoft 365 and CopilotMicrosoft 365 PersonalPro$9.99/mo or $99.99/yrEUR shown by vendorOffice apps for one person; check the plan page for the Copilot features included.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
Microsoft 365 and CopilotMicrosoft 365 PremiumPro$19.99/mo or $199.99/yrEUR shown by vendorAgentic AI features and extended Copilot usage in Microsoft 365.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
Microsoft 365 and CopilotMicrosoft 365 ProMax$99.99/mo, monthly onlyEUR shown by vendorMicrosoft’s highest Copilot usage limits for individuals.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
Mistral (Le Chat, Vibe)FreeFree$0EUR shown by vendorLe Chat free tier.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
Mistral (Le Chat, Vibe)ProPro$14.99/mo excl. taxEUR shown by vendorUp to 6x Free messages, $15/mo API credits, and coding in Vibe (CLI, IDE, web).LinkChecked October 23, 2026
Mistral (Le Chat, Vibe)TeamTeam$24.99/user/mo excl. taxEUR shown by vendorShared workspace with Vibe coding included.LinkChecked October 23, 2026
Mistral (Le Chat, Vibe)EnterpriseEnterpriseContact salesEUR shown by vendorCustom deployment and controls.LinkChecked October 23, 2026

Vendor check log

Which currency each vendor shows a buyer in Germany, what it says about tax, and when we last checked it.

VendorCurrency in GermanyWhat the vendor saysChecked
OpenAI (ChatGPT)EUR shown by vendorchatgpt.com shows EUR to German visitors. VAT not stated. Pro shows only "from €103".October 23, 2026
Anthropic (Claude)USD onlyclaude.com shows USD even in Germany. Prices exclude applicable tax.October 23, 2026
Google AIEUR shown by vendorgemini.google shows EUR for Germany. VAT not stated.October 23, 2026
PerplexityUSD onlyUSD on the site; web checkout lets you pick local currency or USD.October 23, 2026
xAI (X Subscription, incl. Cursor)USD onlyNo EUR prices published. List prices exclude sales tax.October 23, 2026
Microsoft 365 and CopilotEUR shown by vendormicrosoft.com/de-de shows EUR. VAT not stated.October 23, 2026
Mistral (Le Chat, Vibe)EUR shown by vendorWith Germany selected, EUR prices include taxes; USD prices exclude them.October 23, 2026
  • Microsoft Copilot Pro is no longer sold; Microsoft ended support on August 1, 2026. Use Microsoft 365 Premium or Microsoft 365 Pro instead. Source
  • Cursor’s own Pro, Pro+ and Ultra ladder was replaced on October 12, 2026: Cursor is now sold through X Subscription. Existing Cursor plans continue unless changed. Source
  • Gemini Code Assist Standard and Enterprise cannot be bought by new customers since October 9, 2026; Google points to Antigravity. Source

Changelog

What changed in October 2026

Plan changes since late September, newest first, logged on October 23, 2026. The full monthly log lives on Monthly AI Changes.

  1. October 21, 2026

    ChatGPT ads reached 89 countries. Ads appear only on Free and Go; personalized ads are not initially offered in the EEA or Switzerland.

    Vendor source
  2. October 21, 2026

    Claude Duet opened as a research preview for Pro and Max, US only. It draws on the same 5-hour and weekly limits.

    Vendor source
  3. October 16, 2026

    ChatGPT Slides arrived for Pro, Business and Enterprise.

    Vendor source
  4. October 14, 2026

    GPT-5.5 was retired from ChatGPT, ChatGPT Work and Codex. API access was not affected.

    Vendor source
  5. October 12, 2026

    X Subscription launched: Plus $8, Premium $30, Super $100, Ultra $200. Premium bundles SuperGrok, Cursor Pro and X Premium+, and Cursor is now sold through it.

    Vendor source
  6. October 9, 2026

    Google stopped selling new Gemini Code Assist Standard and Enterprise subscriptions.

    Vendor source
  7. October 7, 2026

    Per OpenAI's release notes, GPT-6 became the ChatGPT Chat model: Sol on paid plans, Luna on Free and Go from October 8.

    Vendor source
  8. October 7, 2026

    Claude Max and Team began including monthly API credits: $100 on Max 5x, $200 on Max 20x, up to $500 pooled on Team.

    Vendor source
  9. September 29, 2026

    OpenAI added ChatGPT Pro $500 with Ultrafast and reopened Pro $200 to new subscribers with a lower allowance.

    Vendor source

Methodology

How this comparison is maintained

Every vendor row is checked against the vendor’s own pricing or help page, and the check date is shown per vendor. US prices come from US pages or vendor docs; EUR prices are what the vendor shows a visitor in Germany.

Where a vendor shows only USD to German buyers, we say so instead of converting. Where the vendor does not say whether VAT is included, we do not claim either way.

Recommendations are workflow-first: the best plan is the lowest-cost plan that does not bottleneck the job you do every week.

Comparison cluster

Deep dives for the highest-risk subscription decisions

Which tier fits which workflow

Free tier

Use when you're evaluating a tool or your AI use is sporadic. Free tiers expose enough capability to test a workflow, but usage caps, smaller context windows, and no premium-model access make them unreliable for daily work.

Entry paid tier ($5 to $30 a month)

The default for individual professionals. ChatGPT Go and Plus, Claude Pro, Google AI Plus and Pro, Perplexity Pro, X Plus and Premium, Microsoft 365 Premium and Mistral Pro sit here. If AI is part of your daily work, this is the minimum viable plan.

Max tier ($100 to $500 a month)

For power users running heavy reasoning, deep research or agentic workflows. Worth it only when you hit the entry tier's limits every week; otherwise you are paying for capacity you will not consume. Compare the premium tiers.

Team / Enterprise

Adds admin controls, shared workspaces, data-handling terms and, at OpenAI, a premium seat with no 5-hour limit. EU data residency differs sharply: OpenAI offers European residency for eligible new Enterprise customers, while Anthropic's API offers US or global inference only. Buy enterprise for compliance and governance, not to save money.

Price isn't the whole cost

Four hidden cost lines get missed when comparing AI plans on sticker price alone.

  • Switching cost: moving from ChatGPT to Claude mid-project means re-learning prompt patterns, losing conversation history, and re-wiring any custom instructions. Factor that cost in before chasing a $5/month saving.
  • Ecosystem lock-in: a "cheaper" plan can cost more if it misses the integrations you already rely on (Gmail, Notion, Slack, your IDE). Integration breadth compounds over months.
  • Model access tier: the same $20/month plan on two vendors can expose very different model capacity. ChatGPT Plus gets GPT-6 Astra only in Work and Codex; Claude Pro gets Fable 5.1 only through usage credits. Check the model list at your tier, not just the tier name.
  • Currency and tax: a German buyer sees €23 for ChatGPT Plus but $20 plus tax for Claude Pro. Compare the amount your card is charged, not the headline number.

After the comparison

Turn this comparison into an AI operating system

The plan decision is only step one. The Power Guides turn your subscription stack into repeatable workflows for model choice, prompt quality, and weekly execution.

FAQ

What is the best $20 AI plan in 2026?

There is no single winner. As of October 23, 2026, ChatGPT Plus ($20, GPT-6 Sol) is the broader default for mixed work, Claude Pro ($20, Opus 5.5 and Claude Code) is the stronger writing and long-document option, Google AI Pro ($19.99, Gemini 4 Argon) wins for Google-native work, and Perplexity Pro ($17 billed annually) is the research-first choice.

Should teams buy ChatGPT Business or Claude Team first?

Both start at $20 per seat per month billed annually ($25 monthly). ChatGPT Business Standard runs GPT-6 Sol in Chat since October 7, 2026 and includes 15 GPT-6 Pro messages a month; in Germany it shows €21 annual or €26 monthly. Claude Team Standard gives each member 1.25x Pro usage per session and is billed in USD. Choose ChatGPT Business for broad apps and Codex; choose Claude Team when writing, analysis and Claude Code are the core of the work.

Are AI plan prices shown in euros in Germany?

It depends on the vendor. OpenAI, Google, Microsoft and Mistral show EUR to visitors in Germany. Anthropic (Claude), Perplexity and xAI (X Subscription, which now includes Cursor) show USD. Only Mistral says its EUR price includes taxes; the others do not state VAT treatment, and Anthropic and xAI say their USD prices exclude tax.

Is Microsoft Copilot Pro still sold?

No. Microsoft says Copilot Pro is no longer available for purchase and support ended on August 1, 2026. For individuals, Microsoft now lists Microsoft 365 Premium ($19.99/month, €22.00 in Germany) with extended Copilot usage and Microsoft 365 Pro ($99.99/month, €110.00 in Germany) with the highest usage limits.

What do the Claude Max API credits cover?

Since October 7, 2026, Max 5x includes $100 and Max 20x includes $200 of monthly Claude Platform API credits. Anthropic says they cannot be used in Claude Code or the Claude apps, so they are extra API budget, not extra chat capacity.

When is Perplexity worth paying for?

When source-backed search and research reports matter more than all-purpose generation. It is usually not the best first paid plan if your real bottleneck is writing, coding or broad workflow execution.