Buy ChatGPT Plus if you want one broad assistant with Codex on web, CLI, IDE, and iOS; buy Claude Pro if your week is writing, analysis, or coding in Claude Code, especially if you pay annually and get it for $17 a month. Both cost $20 a month in the US on monthly billing, so the decision is about workflow, not price.
This guide was rewritten on October 23, 2026 against OpenAI's and Anthropic's pricing pages and help centers. It replaces our July 26, 2026 snapshot, which described GPT-5.5 in ChatGPT; OpenAI retired GPT-5.5 from ChatGPT, ChatGPT Work, and Codex on October 14, 2026, and Chat on Plus has run GPT-6 Sol since October 7.
| Claude Pro | ChatGPT Plus | |
|---|---|---|
| US price | $20/month, or $17/month billed annually ($200 up front) | $20/month, monthly billing |
| Germany | Shown in USD, excluding tax; local currency "where supported" | €23/month; VAT not stated |
| Models | Current Claude models including Opus 5.5 and Sonnet 5.5; Fable 5.1 through usage credits | GPT-6 Sol in Chat (Medium and High); GPT-6.1 Sol and GPT-6 Astra in ChatGPT Work and Codex |
| Coding agent | Claude Code | Codex (web, CLI, IDE, iOS) |
| Published limits | At least 5x Free per 5-hour session, plus a weekly limit; shared with Claude Code | Codex estimate: 15 to 160 GPT-6.1 Sol local messages per 5 hours; weekly limits may apply |
| Browser extension | Claude in Chrome (Google Chrome only) | Not compared |
| Ads | Not stated | Not on Plus (ads may appear on Free and Go) |
| Next tier up | Max 5x $100, Max 20x $200 | Pro $100, $200, or $500 |
Where Claude Pro wins
- Annual price: $17 a month billed annually, while OpenAI's pricing FAQ lists Plus as a monthly plan.
- Coding in a terminal or repository: Claude Code is included and draws on the same limits as chat.
- Model choice inside one plan: Opus and Sonnet are included, and Fable 5.1 is available through usage credits.
- Claude in Chrome, on every paid plan, if you work in Google Chrome.
Where ChatGPT Plus wins
- Breadth: one plan for chat, ChatGPT Work, and Codex on web, CLI, IDE, and iOS.
- Access to GPT-6 Astra in ChatGPT Work and Codex, OpenAI's top API model, which Plus cannot use in Chat.
- Published Codex estimates: OpenAI gives a per-5-hour message range for each model, which makes planning easier than a bare multiple.
- A larger ladder above it: Pro at $100, $200, and $500 if you outgrow Plus.
Limits: what $20 actually buys
Neither company publishes a fixed message count for chat. Anthropic says there is no fixed message count and describes Pro as at least 5x Free per 5-hour session with a weekly limit across all models. OpenAI publishes estimates for Codex and ChatGPT Work: on Plus, 15 to 160 GPT-6.1 Sol local messages, 5 to 45 GPT-6 Astra, or 350 to 3,000 GPT-6 Luna per 5 hours, with weekly limits that may also apply. In both products, longer contexts and harder tasks use the allowance faster.
What the leaderboards say, and what they do not
On October 23, 2026, Artificial Analysis listed Claude Opus 5.5 first on its Intelligence Index, and LMArena's text leaderboard listed Gemini 4 Argon first and Claude Opus 5.5 second. Those rankings describe models at specific settings, not how much of each model a $20 plan lets you use, so treat them as a tiebreaker, not the decision.
Verdict
- Choose Claude Pro if your work is long documents, analysis, or code in Claude Code, and especially if you can pay annually ($17 a month).
- Choose ChatGPT Plus if you want one assistant for many kinds of work, Codex across web, CLI, IDE, and iOS, and access to GPT-6 Astra in Work and Codex.
- Choose both (about $37 to $40 a month) only if you will use Claude Code and Codex, or Claude and ChatGPT, for clearly different jobs.
- Choose neither and look at Google AI Pro ($19.99) if you live in Gmail and Docs or need storage.
Compare the full plan ladder, not just the $20 tier.
See ChatGPT, Claude, Google AI, and Perplexity plans side by side with official pricing and help-page links.
Can I use both?
Yes. Claude Pro billed annually plus ChatGPT Plus costs about $37 a month; both on monthly billing cost $40. The combination makes sense when the two plans do different jobs, for example Claude Code for repository work and ChatGPT for broad daily tasks. For many people the real question is not "which one forever?" but "which one first?"
FAQ
Is Claude Pro worth $20 a month?
Yes, if your week is dominated by writing, analysis, and document-heavy work, or you want Claude Code included. On annual billing it costs $17 a month. If you mostly need quick answers across many kinds of tasks, Plus may cover more ground for the same money.
Is ChatGPT Plus worth $20 a month?
Yes, especially if you want one plan to cover more jobs. Since October 7, 2026, Chat on Plus runs GPT-6 Sol, Codex is included on web, CLI, IDE, and iOS, and Plus is the cheapest paid ChatGPT plan without ads.
Which is better for coding, Claude Code or Codex?
Both are included at $20, so test both on your own repository for a week. Claude Code shares Claude's 5-hour and weekly limits with chat; Codex on Plus has published per-5-hour estimates by model. Our AI coding agents comparison covers both alongside Copilot and Cursor.
Which is cheaper in Germany?
ChatGPT Plus showed €23 a month to a visitor in Germany on October 23, 2026, and the page does not say whether VAT is included. Anthropic shows Claude Pro in US dollars ($20 monthly or $17 a month billed annually) and says its prices exclude tax, with local-currency pricing "where supported".
What if $20 is not enough?
The next step is about $100 at both companies: Claude Max 5x or ChatGPT Pro 100. Fix workflow waste first, then compare the two in our ChatGPT Pro vs Claude Max guide.
Is there a better alternative to both?
There can be. Google AI Pro ($19.99 in the US) deserves a look if Gmail, Docs, Drive, and storage anchor your workflow; it includes Gemini 4 Argon and 5 TB. Perplexity Pro ($17 a month billed annually) can be a better use of money if research with citations is your bottleneck.
Compare all AI subscription plans in one place.
ChatGPT, Claude, Google AI, and Perplexity plans compared side by side with current official pricing pages.
