Premium tier decision

ChatGPT Pro vs Claude Max: the $100, $200 and $500 decision

Every major vendor now sells a $100 and a $200 tier, and OpenAI added a $500 one on September 29, 2026. What you buy at these prices is mostly headroom: fewer limits, top-model access, and agent features. Here is what each tier actually includes, side by side.

Last verified October 23, 2026USD and EUR where shownIncludes Google AI Ultra and X

Quick answer

As of October 23, 2026: buy Claude Max 5x ($100) if Claude and Claude Code are your daily tools and you keep hitting the 5-hour window. Buy ChatGPT Pro $100 if you need GPT-6 Pro (Astra) in Chat and no five-hour limit in Codex. Only move to $200 when the $100 tier runs out in a normal week. ChatGPT Pro $500 is the only tier with Ultrafast speed; it is for people who pay for latency, not for most professionals.

The $100 tier

Prices checked on vendor pages on October 23, 2026. US prices exclude tax unless the vendor says otherwise.
PlanPriceUsageTop model accessExtras
ChatGPT Pro $100$100/month, monthly onlyNo five-hour limit in Codex and Work; one weekly allowance shared by GPT-6 Pro and GPT-5.6 Sol ProGPT-6 Pro (Astra) in ChatNo ads. dots always-on agents (excluded in the EEA, Switzerland and UK at launch)
Claude Max 5x$100/month, monthly only5x Pro per 5-hour session, plus a weekly limitOpus 5.5; Fable 5.1 up to 50% of weekly limits$100/month in Claude Platform API credits (not usable in Claude Code or the apps); Claude Code included
Google AI Ultra (5x)$99.99/month (US), €99.99/month (Germany)5x AI Pro limits; 5-hour refresh until the weekly limitGemini 4 ArgonFrom 20 TB storage, YouTube Premium, 10,000 Flow credits
X Subscription Super$100/month or $1,000/year15x usage, one pool shared by Grok and CursorGrok models; third-party models in Cursor at API list priceTeams can buy Super per seat at the same price

The $200 tier

PlanPriceUsageNotes
ChatGPT Pro $200$200/month, monthly onlyGPT-6 Pro weekly limit, then falls back to GPT-5.6 Thinking MediumReopened to new subscribers on September 29, 2026 with a lower allowance than before.
Claude Max 20x$200/month, monthly only20x Pro per 5-hour session, plus weekly limits and a separate weekly Fable limitIncludes $200/month in Claude Platform API credits
Google AI Ultra (20x)$199.99/month (US), €219.99/month (Germany)20x AI Pro limits25,000 Flow credits
X Subscription Ultra$200/month or $2,000/year50x usage, shared Grok and Cursor poolPer-seat Ultra available for teams
Perplexity Max$200/month or $2,000/year ($167/month billed annually)Weekly and monthly limits, no published numbers10,000 monthly credits plus 35,000 bonus credits

The $500 tier

PlanPriceWhat is different
ChatGPT Pro $500$500/month, monthly onlyThe only ChatGPT tier with Ultrafast. Ultrafast consumes 8x the included allowance (6x when paid with credits). Launched September 29, 2026.
Anyone else on this pageNo consumer plan at $500As of October 23, 2026, Anthropic, xAI and Perplexity top out at $200 a month for individuals, and Google at $199.99 (€219.99 in Germany).

Buying from Germany

PlanWhat the vendor shows in GermanyBilling
ChatGPT Pro"From €103/month"; the logged-out page shows no EUR price per tier. VAT not stated.Monthly only, no annual plan
Claude MaxUSD only, even with a German interface; Anthropic says prices exclude applicable tax.Monthly only
Google AI Ultra€99.99 (5x) or €219.99 (20x) per month. VAT not stated.Monthly price shown; no annual Ultra price displayed on the pages we checked
X SubscriptionNo EUR prices published; xAI says list prices do not include sales tax.Monthly or annual
EU availability gapsChatGPT dots on Pro excluded the EEA, Switzerland and UK at launch. Claude Duet is a US-only preview.Check before you pay for a feature

What you actually buy above $20

At $100 and up you are not buying a smarter default model. ChatGPT Plus already runs GPT-6 Sol in Chat, and Claude Pro already includes Opus 5.5. You are buying three things: more usage per window, access to the most expensive model tier (GPT-6 Pro on ChatGPT, a larger Fable 5.1 share on Claude), and agent or speed features that only exist on the top tiers.

That makes the decision a usage question first. If you do not hit your $20 plan limits at least weekly, a $100 tier mostly buys peace of mind. If you hit them daily, the $100 tier usually pays for itself, and the $200 tier is the answer only when the $100 tier also runs out in a normal week.

Claude Max has one extra that changed on October 7, 2026: monthly API credits ($100 or $200). They are useful if you also build on the Claude API, but Anthropic says they cannot be spent in Claude Code or the Claude apps, so do not count them as extra chat capacity.

Verdict: choose by situation

Choose Claude Max 5x if

Claude and Claude Code carry your work, you hit the 5-hour window often, and you can use API credits on the side.

Choose ChatGPT Pro $100 if

you want GPT-6 Pro in Chat, Codex without a five-hour limit, and OpenAI’s agent features.

Choose Google AI Ultra if

Gemini is your daily model and the storage, YouTube Premium and Flow credits replace other spending.

Choose X Super or Ultra if

Cursor is your editor and you also use Grok; one pool covers both.

Choose a $200 tier only if

the $100 tier of the same vendor runs out in a normal week, not in a launch week.

Choose ChatGPT Pro $500 only if

latency costs you money. Ultrafast is the only thing it adds, and it burns allowance 8x faster.

FAQ

Is ChatGPT Pro unlimited?

No. OpenAI says GPT-6 Pro is not unlimited: Pro $100 has one weekly allowance shared with GPT-5.6 Sol Pro, and Pro $200 falls back to GPT-5.6 Thinking Medium after its weekly GPT-6 Pro limit. Pro plans have no five-hour limit in Codex and ChatGPT Work.

Can Claude Max API credits pay for Claude Code?

No. Anthropic says the $100 or $200 monthly credits are for the Claude Platform and cannot be used in Claude Code or the Claude apps.

Is Claude Max worth it over Pro?

Only if you hit Pro limits regularly. Max 5x gives five times Pro usage per 5-hour session; the weekly cap still applies.

Can I pay annually for ChatGPT Pro or Claude Max?

No. Both vendors list these tiers as monthly billing only as of October 23, 2026.

Which premium tier is cheapest in Germany?

Google AI Ultra 5x at €99.99 is the only one with a published per-tier EUR price. ChatGPT Pro shows "from €103", and Claude and X show USD only.

Before you upgrade

Source log and methodology

Pricing, plan names, and product claims are checked against official vendor pages first. Recommendations are workflow-first: the winning plan is the lowest-cost option that does not bottleneck the weekly job.

Next step

Turn the decision into a working AI stack

Use the comparator for plan selection, then route repeatable workflows into the Power Guides or Weekly AI Signal instead of collecting more generic AI tips.