Back to Blog
ChatGPT Pro $100 vs $200 vs $500

ChatGPT Pro $100 vs $200 vs $500 (2026): Which Tier You Need, and When Claude Max or Google AI Ultra Fits Better

ByT-Minus AI EditorialOctober 23, 20269 min read
ChatGPT Pro $100 vs $200 vs $500 (2026): Which Tier You Need, and When Claude Max or Google AI Ultra Fits Better

Start with Pro 100 if ChatGPT Plus limits block your work; move to Pro 200 only after you regularly use up Pro 100's weekly GPT-6 Pro allowance; buy Pro 500 only if you need Ultrafast, which OpenAI offers on that tier alone. As of October 23, 2026, all three tiers are billed monthly, with no annual plan.

OpenAI launched the $500 tier on September 29, 2026 and at the same time reopened Pro 200 to new subscribers with a lower allowance. It describes the tiers in relative terms, not message counts, so this guide sticks to what OpenAI's help center states. For a straight plan-versus-plan table with Claude, see our ChatGPT Pro vs Claude Max page; this post is the buyer's view.

ChatGPT Pro tiers, checked October 23, 2026
Pro 100Pro 200Pro 500
US price$100/month$200/month$500/month
BillingMonthly onlyMonthly onlyMonthly only
GPT-6 Pro in ChatOne weekly allowance shared by GPT-6 Pro and GPT-5.6 Sol ProWeekly GPT-6 Pro limit, then falls back to GPT-5.6 Thinking MediumNot described separately on the model help page we read
UltrafastNoNoYes; uses 8x the included allowance
Five-hour limit in Codex and ChatGPT WorkNone currentlyNone currentlyNone currently
ChatGPT dots (always-on agents)Pro plans, 18+; Pro access excluded the EEA, Switzerland, and UK at launchSameSame
AdsNot statedNot statedNot stated

In ChatGPT, Fast uses 2.5x of the included allowance (2x on credits) and Ultrafast 8x (6x on credits). As of October 23, 2026, OpenAI said earlier Pro 200 subscribers kept their previous allowance through October 29, 2026. In Germany, chatgpt.com shows Pro "from €103" a month and does not list per-tier euro prices to logged-out visitors.

Three buyers, three tiers

These are illustrative profiles to make the tiers concrete, not customer stories.

Buyer 1: the consultant who keeps hitting Plus limits (Pro 100)

She uses ChatGPT all day for analysis and drafts and runs into Plus limits in Codex and ChatGPT Work several times a week. Pro 100 removes the five-hour limit in Codex and ChatGPT Work for now and adds GPT-6 Pro in Chat with a weekly allowance. At $100 it costs the same as Claude Max 5x and about the same as Google AI Ultra 5x ($99.99), so this is also the moment to ask whether ChatGPT is still the right home.

Buyer 2: the developer who empties the weekly GPT-6 Pro allowance (Pro 200)

He relies on GPT-6 Pro for hard problems and finishes Pro 100's weekly allowance by midweek. Pro 200 gives a separate weekly GPT-6 Pro limit and then falls back to GPT-5.6 Thinking Medium instead of stopping. OpenAI does not publish how much larger the Pro 200 allowance is, so upgrade for one month and check whether you still hit the limit.

Buyer 3: the team lead whose bottleneck is speed (Pro 500)

She runs time-sensitive agent jobs where waiting is the cost. Ultrafast is only on Pro 500, and it uses 8x the included allowance, so the fastest tier also drains fastest. If speed is not the constraint, Pro 500 is the wrong upgrade. If she is buying for a team, ChatGPT Business Premium ($125 a month, or $100 billed annually) lists "5x more usage than standard, with no 5-hour limit" plus admin controls.

What Pro includes besides higher limits

  • GPT-6 Pro in Chat, which OpenAI updated for Pro users on October 16, 2026. Plus does not get GPT-6 Pro in Chat.
  • Codex and ChatGPT Work without a five-hour limit, for now; weekly limits can still apply.
  • ChatGPT Slides, launched October 16, 2026 for Pro, Business, and Enterprise.
  • ChatGPT dots, the always-on agents with their own cloud computer, for users 18 and over, outside the EEA, Switzerland, and the UK at launch.
  • No ads, like Plus, Business, and Enterprise.

What a year costs

Because Pro is monthly only, a year is twelve full payments: $1,200 on Pro 100, $2,400 on Pro 200, and $6,000 on Pro 500, against $240 for a year of Plus. Moving from Pro 200 to Pro 500 adds $300 a month, or $3,600 a year, for Ultrafast. For comparison, a year of Claude Max 5x is also $1,200, and a year of Google AI Ultra 5x at $99.99 a month is $1,199.88. Second check: $100 times 12 is $1,200, $200 times 12 is $2,400, and $500 times 12 is $6,000.

ChatGPT Pro vs Claude Max vs Google AI Ultra

Top consumer tiers compared, October 23, 2026
ChatGPT ProClaude MaxGoogle AI Ultra
About $100Pro 100: $100Max 5x: $100AI Ultra 5x: $99.99
About $200Pro 200: $200Max 20x: $200AI Ultra 20x: $199.99
Above $200Pro 500: $500NoneNone
How usage is describedRelative tiers; weekly GPT-6 Pro allowance5x or 20x Pro per 5-hour session, weekly limits, and a separate weekly Fable limit5x or 20x AI Pro limits; compute-based, refreshing every 5 hours until a weekly limit
Coding agentCodex, currently without a five-hour limitClaude CodeAntigravity with higher limits and an AI credit pool
ExtrasChatGPT dots (not in the EEA, Switzerland, or UK at launch); ChatGPT Slides$100 or $200 of monthly API credits, not usable in Claude Code or the appsFrom 20 TB storage, YouTube Premium, 10,000 or 25,000 Flow credits
BillingMonthly onlyMonthly onlyMonthly price shown; no annual Ultra price displayed on the pages we checked
GermanyFrom €103/monthUSD only, excluding taxFrom €99.99 (5x) or €219.99 (20x)

Verdict

  • Choose Pro 100 if Plus limits block you and you want to stay in ChatGPT and Codex.
  • Choose Pro 200 only after a month in which you used up Pro 100's weekly GPT-6 Pro allowance most weeks.
  • Choose Pro 500 only if Ultrafast speed is the bottleneck, and accept that it uses 8x the allowance.
  • Choose Claude Max if your heavy work happens in Claude Code; Max 5x and Pro 100 cost the same.
  • Choose Google AI Ultra if storage, YouTube Premium, Flow, or Antigravity matter as much as the model.
  • Choose ChatGPT Business Premium if you are buying for a team and want no 5-hour limit with admin controls.

Before you upgrade: a one-week check

  1. Note each time you hit a limit, and which one: the 5-hour window, the weekly limit, or a model-specific allowance.
  2. Check whether a cheaper model or a lower reasoning setting would have done the job.
  3. Price the same tier elsewhere: Claude Max 5x at $100 and Google AI Ultra 5x at $99.99.
  4. Upgrade for one month, then check again. All three Pro tiers bill monthly, so you can step back down.

FAQ

How much is ChatGPT Pro in 2026?

As of October 23, 2026, OpenAI sells three Pro tiers in the US: $100, $200, and $500 a month, all billed monthly. In Germany, chatgpt.com shows Pro "from €103" a month without per-tier euro prices for logged-out visitors.

Is ChatGPT Pro unlimited?

No. OpenAI's help center says GPT-6 Pro is not unlimited: Pro 100 has one weekly allowance shared by GPT-6 Pro and GPT-5.6 Sol Pro, and Pro 200 has a weekly GPT-6 Pro limit before falling back to GPT-5.6 Thinking Medium. OpenAI also says Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit in Codex and ChatGPT Work.

What does Pro 500 add over Pro 200?

Ultrafast, which OpenAI offers only on Pro 500. Ultrafast uses 8x the included allowance, so it is for speed-critical work, not for stretching usage further.

Is ChatGPT Pro 100 or Claude Max 5x the better buy?

Both cost $100 a month and bill monthly. Pro 100 suits people who live in ChatGPT and Codex; Max 5x suits people who live in Claude and Claude Code, and adds $100 a month of API credits that cannot be used in Claude Code or the apps. Our ChatGPT Pro vs Claude Max page compares them line by line.

Can I pay for ChatGPT Pro annually?

No. OpenAI's help center lists monthly billing only for all three Pro tiers, as of October 23, 2026.